Dolomites UNESCO - Natural World Heritage Site
2 3

Day of arrival
Day of departure
Dolomites UNESCO - Natural World Heritage Site

The United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) maintains a worldwide list of protected natural paradises and cultural treasures that are considered to be of particular value to future generations. In recent years the organization evaluated the candidacy of the Dolomites as a Natural World Heritage Site. This effort received the support ofthe Italian provinces of Bolzano, Trento, Belluno, Udine and Pordenone (the five provinces over which the Dolomites territory extends). This cooperation had one specific goal: to obtain this prestigious recognition from UNESCO.


In 2009 the Dolomites have taken their rightful place among the most beautiful mountains in the world. The best known peaks, such as Marmolada (3,342mt), Tofana di Rozes (3,225mt), Three Peaks of Lavaredo (2,999mt), Rosengarten (3,000mt), Latemar (2,700mt), Mount Pelmo (3,169mt) and Pale di San Martino (3,192mt) are the centrepieces of one of the most charming mountain landscapes on the planet.


The Dolomites and the Aeolian Islands are now the only two places in Italy that UNESCO has included in its list of World Heritage Sites.

Avita - suites to relax · Marcel Perathoner · I-39046 Ortisei / Val Gardena (BZ) · Str. Rezia 147 · Dolomites · Trentino South Tyrol · Italy

E-Mail: · Tel +39 333 3205850 / 0471 1885882 · P.IVA 02533740219
Read/write reviews: