exclusive apartments
for an unforgettable holiday
  • Ciampinoi Langkofel Plattkofel Monte Pana Seiseralm Sassolungo Sassopiatto Alpe di Siusi vacanze
  • Cir Chedul Stevia Sellagruppe Grödnerjoch Gruppo del Sella Passo Gardena Passi dolomitici
  • Dolomiti Superski Skifahren Unesco Weltnaturerbe sciare vacanze holiday skiing
  • Estate Lagazuoi Sommer
  • Herbst Sellajoch Sellatürme autunno Passo Sella Gruppe Sella
  • Marmolada Lagazuoi Falzarego
  • Skifahren Dolomiten sciare Dolomiti skiing Dolomites
Dolomiti UNESCO

The Dolomites – a UNESCO Natural World Heritage Site since 2009

“The most beautiful edifices in the world” - Reinhold Messner about the Dolomites

The UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization) manages a list of protected natural and cultural treasures of outstanding universal value to humankind. A couple of years ago the organization evaluated the candidacy of the Dolomites as a Natural World Heritage Site. The application was submitted by the five north-eastern Italian provinces with territory in the property, namely South Tyrol, Trentino, Belluno, Udine and Pordenone. Their goal was to obtain UNESCO Natural World Heritage status for the DOLOMITES.

Since June 26, 2009, the Dolomites have been inscribed on the list of the 50 most beautiful and valued landscapes in Europe and of 199 worldwide.

The Dolomites with their iconic peaks such as Marmolada (3,342m) are now listed among the most beautiful mountains in the world.

The extensive nature reserves and national parks of the property contributed to their nomination as well. Among them is the PUEZ-ODLE NATURE RESERVE in Val Gardena.

Together with the Aeolian Islands the Dolomites are the only two designated Natural World Heritages sites in Italy.